Jun 28, 2025

Statement of PBA Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro and the PBA Technical Committee re Calvin Oftana's 4-point attempt that was ruled as a 3-point attempt

WITH 7.7 seconds remaining in regulation and Rain or Shine leading 99-96, a foul was called on Gian Mamuyac as he defended Calvin Oftana.

The referees initiated a review to determine whether the foul occurred on a three-point attempt or from the four-point area.

Following the review, it was ruled that the foul occurred on a three-point shot attempt. Calvin Oftana was subsequently awarded three free throws, all of which he converted, sending the game into overtime.

However, video footage from members of the media has surfaced, clearly indicating that Calvin Oftana was beyond the four-point line at the time of the foul -- thus qualifying the play as a four-point shot attempt.

Our official reviews are based on video feeds from our cameras from different angles. These serve as our sole basis for decision-making during in-game reviews. While we strive to provide accurate rulings, our assessments are inherently limited to the footage available within these camera perspectives.

Sponsored content:
We deeply regret that this call was missed. This incident highlights that, despite the use of advanced equipment and multiple camera angles, blind spots can and do still exist within live game coverage.

Our players, teams, and fans deserve the highest standards of fairness and accuracy. We acknowledge this lapse and commit to continuously improving our review systems to minimize such occurrences in the future.